The World Mayors Council on Climate Change was founded in December 2005 by Yorikane Masumoto, Mayor of City of Kyoto at the time, soon after the Kyoto Protocol entered into force in February 2005. The founding assembly took place in Montreal in parallel to the eleventh UNFCCC Conference of Parties.

From the dozen pioneer mayors, the Council has progressively grown to count in 2012 more than 70 leaders of megalopolises, counties, cities and towns from every continent. They embody the diversity of local governments around the world.

The Council's members have increasingly participated in local governments' advocacy efforts, in particular during United Nations negotiations on climate change and biodiversity. Thus, the Council has been a partner of the Local Governments' Climate Roadmap.

In 2009, Marcelo Ebrard, Mayor of Mexico City, became the new Chair. Under his leadership, and with the support of the Vice-Chair, Jürgen Nimptsch, Mayor of Bonn, the World Mayors Council convened three major events: the 2010 and 2011 Mayors Adaptation Forums in Bonn and the World Mayors Summit on Climate in Mexico City. These two landmarks events reinforced the legitimacy of the World Mayors Council in its role as the political driver of LGs' efforts to cooperate globally on climate change adaptation and mitgation.


Founding meeting, Montréal, December 2005